Ronald W. Hyatt Rotary Public Service Award

Increase font size
Decrease font size


The Ronald W. Hyatt Rotary Public Service Award is given annually in support of innovative public service projects that exemplify the motto of Rotary International, “Service above Self.” The award, sponsored by the Chapel Hill Rotary Club, is named for the late Dr. Ronald W. Hyatt, professor of Exercise and Sport Science at UNC-Chapel Hill and long-time member of the Chapel Hill Rotary Club, in recognition of his distinguished career at the University and his commitment to helping others. Three awards will be given this year. The Carolina Center for Public Service administers this award.


  • Undergraduate or graduate students at UNC-Chapel Hill, individually or in teams.
  • Applicants must be continuing their studies at UNC-Chapel Hill in the following fall semester.
  • The proposal must be written and submitted by the student(s) who have planned and will be implementing the project.
  • The Hyatt award will NOT fund internships or projects in which all or most of the funds support student travel and living expenses.

Submission Guidelines

Submission guidelines include the following:

  • A justification of need and a description of how the service you will provide or the project you will complete adds to or complements what is already available;
  • A concise description of the project and how you will carry it out, including a description of the personnel involved;
  • Specific outcomes and how you will measure them;
  • An estimate of the impact of the project and the likelihood that the project will continue after the award period has ended;
  • An approximate timeline you will follow; and
  • A project budget that does not request more than $3,000 if international and $2,000 if local and describes the sources and amounts of any other funding. (NOTE: Although travel costs for students will be considered, preference will be given to projects in which a significant portion of the budget goes to community and project costs.)

If the project will be conducted in cooperation with or receive financial or other support from a governmental agency or private sector organization, applicants are asked to submit a letter of commitment from each such agency, which can be uploaded with the application.

2017 Award Recipients

  • Susanna Khachaturyan
    Classroom to Community (C2C) is affiliated with the Maureen Joy Charter School in Durham, North Carolina. C2C provides health education at Maureen Joy, which lacks a health teacher, by teaching six health courses to the students through volunteers. The volunteers are UNC-Chapel Hill graduate students trained through seminars and coaching opportunities.
  • Asif Khan
    Healthy Mind Initiative (HMI) is affiliated with Jaago in Bangladesh. Khan created a task force of volunteers to provide workshops to Jaago students on emotional and behavioral health topics. With the assistance of the task force, a peer mentorship initiative and creative expressions programming will be launched to train exemplary upper-class Jaago students to become peer-mentors for younger at-risk students.
  • Shivpriya Sridhar
    Stage Play is affiliated with Campus Y and brings the art of acting and drama to children diagnosed with autism. In partnership with organizations at Carolina, volunteers will be recruited and trained during a five-week session to become a buddy to a child program participant. The buddy will participate in all activities with the child as they grow during the program.
  • Jacob Stocks
    The Revamping Maternal, Neonatal and Child Health Services project in Lawra, Ghana will be affiliated with and aided by Project Heel. To support locally-led, sustainable health initiatives in rural Upper West Ghana, this project will contribute to local construction workers and clinic staff during renovation of Methodist Clinic of Lawra.