Skip to main content

About the Community Impact Student Award

Since 2006, North Carolina Campus Engagement (formerly North Carolina Campus Compact) has given the Community Impact Student Awards to recognize an outstanding, full-time undergraduate or graduate student service leader from each member campus. The call for nominations starts the first week in September and the nominations are due the first week in October, and the Carolina Center for Public Service manages the nomination process for the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

To Make a Nomination

If you are interested in making a nomination or being nominated for the Community Impact Student Award, notify Ryan Nilsen.

2022 “Engagement Matters” Student Award Ceremony

Previous Award Winners

The following students have received the Community Impact Student Award:

  • Alvin Dinh in 2022
  • Sneha Makhijani in 2021
  • De’Ivyion Drew in 2020
  • Faith Newsome in 2019
  • Anum Imran in 2018
  • Jessica Mencia in 2017
  • Jashawna Gladney in 2016
  • José Cisneros in 2015
  • J. Jacob Hinton in 2014
  • Shannon Smith in 2013
  • Camille McGirt in 2012
  • Meghan Lyons in 2011
  • Morgan Abbott in 2010
  • Maggie West in 2009
  • Charlie McGeehan in 2008
  • Hannah Yin in 2007
  • Gregory Richmond in 2006