Faculty Engaged Scholars and APPLES Service-Learning faculty receive teaching honors

Increase font size
Decrease font size

College of Arts & Sciences

2013 University Teaching Awards honor instructors across disciplines

Twenty-four instructors in 18 different departments or schools, received 2013 University Teaching Awards at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the highest campus-wide recognition for teaching excellence. Five of those recognized are connected to CCPS programs as either Faculty Engaged Scholars or faculty for APPLES service-learning courses.

The Tanner Awards for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Jennifer Coble, department of biology (APPLES faculty)
  • Donna LeFebvre, senior lecturer, department of political science (APPLES faculty)
  • Andrew Reynolds, associate professor in the department of political science and chair of the curriculum in global studies (Faculty Engaged Scholar)

Chapman Family Teaching Award

  • Rachel Willis, associate professor, department of American studies (APPLES faculty)

The J. Carlyle Sitterson Freshman Teaching Award

  • Mai Nguyen, assistant professor, department of city and regional planning (Faculty Engaged Scholar)