Community Service Scholars in matching yellow rain suits, with misty mountains behind them

Community Service Scholarships are offered to a select group of service-oriented UNC-Chapel Hill students in their second year to support tuition costs for their remaining time at Carolina and enable them to participate in a unique series of programs focused on increasing their knowledge and skills related to community service. Through the scholarship, students receive training, mentorship and support in pursuing their particular public service interests.

Program components:

  • Scholars receive a $5,000 annual tuition scholarship (renewable for three years)
  • Scholars participate in the Buckley Public Service Scholars program, providing them with the opportunities and structure to build service portfolios and develop skills related to community service.
  • Scholars engage in at least 1000 hours of service during their time at Carolina.
  • Effective fall 2019, scholars in their first year of the program participate in a four-day leadership development course through the North Carolina Outward Bound School over fall break.
  • Scholars meet with CCPS staff throughout their experience to provide support, program structure and additional opportunities for service.

MacDonald Fellows and Scott MacDonald

In 2015, Scott MacDonald ’72 M.R.P. endowed the Scott D. MacDonald Community Service Scholarships. In 2017, Donald Ubell ’67 added the Ubell Community Service Scholarship to the Community Service Scholars program.

Current scholars are:

  • Alyssa Cooper of Cary, North Carolina; Madeleine Mizelle of Chapel Hill, North Carolina; and Rianna Saslow of Brookhaven, Georgia were selected as sophomore MacDonald Scholars in the scholarships fifth year.
  • Eseosa Evbuomwan of Sanford, North Carolina; Natalie Rose-Ying Gauger of Greensboro, North Carolina; and Harrison Jacobs of Bethesda, Maryland were selected as junior MacDonald Scholars in the scholarship’s fifth year.
  • Nick Provencher of Manchester, New Hampshire was selected as the MacDonald scholar in the scholarship’s fourth year. Summer Hyland of Winston-Salem, North Carolina was selected as the inaugural Fisher Family Community Service Scholar.
  • Ariel Bryant of Burgaw, North Carolina and Emma Hughson of Colerain, North Carolina were selected as MacDonald scholars in the third class of Community Service Scholars. Tori Dunlap of Mount Holly, North Carolina was selected as the inaugural Ubell scholar.
  • Hanan Alazzam of Asheboro, North Carolina; Nicholas Guariglia of West Palm Beach, Florida; Dillon Rubalcava of Jamestown, North Carolina; and Jessica Thompson of Ft. Bragg, North Carolina were selected as the second class of MacDonald scholars.
  • Anish Bhatia of New Hyde Park, New York; Maximiliano Flores-Palacios of Gastonia, North Carolina; Finn Loendorf of Stanley, North Carolina; and John Roberson of Durham, North Carolina were selected as the inaugural MacDonald scholars.

MacDonald Community Fellowship

During their third year, Community Service Scholars matriculate into the MacDonald Community Fellowship program, where they work with a community partner to identify a signature public service project to be completed by the time they graduate. Through this fellowship, students participate in specialized training to develop plans for their project and receive funds to implement their project.

For programmatic questions regarding the scholarship or fellowship, contact Ryan Nilsen.


To learn more about funding a Community Service Scholarship, contact Tricia Daisley or call 919-843-7568.